Nendoroid Guide! 10 steps to differentiate between real and fakes!

Been buying nendos for quite some time now, thought I like to do a guide. I’ll basically be using my BRS nendoroid (real) and my Hatsune Miku nendoroid (fake) as references. Sorry, can’t do a real miku and bootleg miku comparison cause I’m a poorfag. ;(

So, how do you spot a fake nendoroid?

I’ll start first saying how to spot a fake from the outside first, because that’s what you want to do, how to know its a fake first by checking all the stuff on the box first. OK, here goes.

1: The price. Read this from somewhere: If something is too good to be true, then something is too good to be true. Based on my experience, bootleg (fake) nendos usually cost around $20-$30. I saw one of these before at a convention, so if you guys think that if getting your stuff is a convention is safe, then think again. Very rarely (I have never seen it before in my whole life) will a real nendoroid cost less than $40. Genuine ones will cost $40-$50+++, depending on the rarity, character and whether it is limited edition or not. Its better to pay more to ensure a genuine stuff then get scammed unknowingly. Speaking of which, I got my bootleg Miku for $10. The shop was clearing its stock, plus, it was quite cheap for a fake one (as I said, fake ones usually cost $20-$30) so I bought it.

2: The very first thing to check is whether they have the round sticker to secure the cover of the box. This is a standard for all GSC nendos.

There, that. Fake nendos use the normal scotch tape. You should be able to feel it at least, since its transparent. If its a second hand nendoroid, then you must look for other signs, too bad.

3: Very poor quality. For example, signs, such as a bad paint job, limbs/head fallen out while in the box. For example, this is my miku nendo:

You can notice two things from this. Firstly, the limbs that dropped out. GSC also pride quality in its nendos, so if you see it like that then its most likely a fake. Secondly, if you look closer, you can see this:

Paint on Miku’s side of hair. Another sign of poor quality. So most likely its a fake. (Although I even encountered this problem with my kudryavka nendo, there was a small thin black stroke on her cap, but nevermind)

4:Distorted facial expression/ colours are slightly off. You know at sight that that shana nendoroid is fake if her hair is orange instead of red. Or that meiko when her hair is yellow instead of brown. Unfortunately, for some nendoroids, this isn’t quite obvious. In my case, miku’s colours are slightly off. It looks as though as shes sunburned. Her skin is far too dark and her hair looks dirty.

Another thing you can notice is that her eyes… don’t look that right. It seems out of place. This is what a real miku nendoroid should look like (image is not mine):

Taken from the GSC website. You’ll notice differences between these two. rule of thumb is, if you’re gonna get a nendoroid, its better to look up some reference pictures first at the GSC website before buying one.

5: The box. The boxes of real nendoroids are slightly more glossy then those of the fake nendos. Unfortunately, for first time buyers, its very hard for you to know this yet. Basically, this skill will be acquired somehow, naturally after some buying experience. After buying like 3 or 4 nendos you should already have the feel of telling a fake one apart from a real one already. Nevertheless, try to understand whatever I’m gonna say. =.=

Compare the two boxes. My BRS box is more glossy than my miku’s box. That is the first thing. Second thing is that you will feel that something is not right about the paint used in miku’s box. It is sort of pale, compared to the black rock shooter nendoroid box. Unfortunately for those who cannot notice the difference, its ok. This skill can be unlocked by buying more nendoroids. You can rely on the three other signs above to differentiate between real and bootlegs.

I guess thats about it for how to see if a nendoroid is bootleg from the outside. Let’s go on deeper now, to the nendo itself.

6:Very very loose parts. I’m serious about this. VERY VERY LOOSE parts. One side of my miku’s twintail keeps dropping, god knows why.

Derp.

7: Oh CRAP MIKU DOESN’T HAVE A HOLE IN HER BACK! That means her stand is useless!

Basically, a nendoroid is suppose to have some sort of a small hole on its back so that it can be fitted in a stand and be put for display. Nendoroids themselves have big heads and small bodies which makes their centre of gravity high and make them tilt over easily. I can’t believe it when I saw it first. Why the hell did the box come with a stand, then? =.=

8: The joints. Look at this picture:

Compare the colour of the miku joint to the brs joint. Miku’s joint is yellowish and pales whle brs’s is in a healthy colour. Another sign of poor quality.

9: The stand. This is probably quite obvious.

It says “made in china”. Real nendoroids, the stands that come with it should also have the words “good smile company” or something like that. I’m not sure about the words, but if its only ” made in china written there on the stand, then there’s a high probability its a fake. Also, too bad you won’t know this if you’re a first time nendoroid buyer without doing some pre-reading up on the internet first.

10: Other signs of crappy quality.

Real GSC nendos don’t have these.

That’s about it. 10 steps to differentiate a real and fake.

I’m going to throw in some tips on how ensure the nendoroid you get isn’t bootleg too.

1: If you’re getting your nendo from a convention, make sure the wholeseller is reliable. better yet, if there’s a GSC booth, its best to get your nendo there. I highly doubt (unless they’re stupid or some random person came and exchange real ones for fake ones) that they’re gonna sell fake ones.

2: Local shops. I’m not saying ALL local shops do not sell bootlegs. If you’re gonna get your nendo from a local shop, get it from a good shop. You should lurk around in the otaku forums more and see which shops are good. Or know a good shop by people talking about it. In my case, I live in singapore, so a good shop will be kknm. http://www.theanimehouse.com/ They’re a good shop. I heard from a friend that he saw a bootleg figma once in la tendo before, I have never see it before as i rarely get my stuff from la tendo (its too damn far away I live in the north). But however they have nice people over the counter so if you want to buy from them its okay.

3:If you’re getting it online. I strongly dissuade you from getting it from ebay or some second hand reseller unless you’re gonna meet up and check the condition of the nendo. I’ve read alot of cases of people getting scammed online by the second hand resellers. Most likely if you’re gonna buy it from ebay you’re gonna get a fake. If you’re going to get it online, go to trusted wholesellers. Like, http://www.1999.co.jp/ .

I guess that’s about it. I’ve imparted all my knowledge of nendos to this blog post. Good luck with your buying spree.

44 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by AlphaVL on April 9, 2012 at 9:57 am

    Thank you for sharing this! I’m aiming to get a nendoroid soon but I needed some tips and tricks to recognize the genuine and the fake nendoroids. Once again, ありがとうございます!

    Reply

    • No problem. You’re welcome! 🙂

      Reply

      • Posted by Asuna on January 24, 2018 at 10:33 am

        My new nendoroid doesn’t fit any of these bootleg characteristics (thank goodness) but I’m, still on the fence about if it is real or not can I have some help?

      • sorry if this reply comes abit late, but I’m heartened see my post 5 years ago still relevant today.

        If you are not convinced, perhaps you can ask your friends that also collect nendoroids to help you take a look?

  2. Posted by meow on December 8, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    Thanks for sharing. I bought mine from tenchi aka Xin Tian Di and guess what? All fake 😦 thanks for sharing. Luckily i found out early. If not, i migjt have wated tons of money. 😦 btw I live in singapore too. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sachiko Phantomhive on December 26, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    God, never knew that my nendroids were fake. Thanks for the info. My fake Rin Kagamine nendoroid has poor paint and her bangs are very loose. My Rin nendoroid is a Cheerful ver. one. And there’s a pompom that cannot even fit into her hand. And yeah, the parts are SUPER loose. And my Sebastian Michaelis nendoroid is a little okay. But the parts are very loose too.

    Reply

  4. Posted by SecretSecret on January 1, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    Thanks so much for this… I have the exact same Miku nendoroid as you, so… is it normal to get depressed about this? XD But still, I love my Miku nendo. NENDOROIDS ARE AWESOME~!!

    Reply

    • Well, I guess it’s not that bad if you didn’t bought it at a price at what a real nendo is sold for.

      And yes, nendoroids are AWESOME!
      Most probably going to fill my whole collection with just nendos if I don’t get tempted by those amazing detailed scale figures. 🙂

      Reply

      • i found out that my miku nendo is fake too, i’m a bit sad, but i still love her very very much =w= i bought her second-hand, and I haven’t paid much, so.. .w. and she’s kinda good quality, i mean – she seems like that ^^

  5. Posted by Bluebell on January 13, 2013 at 9:47 am

    I never knew that My Ciel Phantomhive nendoroid is fake the parts are loose and the stand has Made in China in it :/ How disappointing .

    Reply

    • If its just made in china then its fake. Real ones have GSC logo beside (I think). Well anyway that’s sad to hear. 😦 Be more careful in the future.

      Reply

    • Guys, dont panic if its made in China because thats where the GSC factory is! It was only designed in Japan then shipped to there production factory in China 😛 the difference is the Quality Check procedure which is done by Japan when the products get shipped back to them so they will accept or reject it

      Reply

  6. Posted by Neko :3 on January 27, 2013 at 8:07 am

    Thank you!! For this I learned I had 7 bootlegs, and 3 officials! :3 Thank you.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Ray on January 30, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    I just buy a nendoriod and its my first time too. The picture that you post are true. Fake nendoriod have lost part, Made in china logo under the stand and all the things you say. Its same with my Saber Lily. But thanks for telling me and lesson learn.

    Reply

  8. Posted by HatsuneMiku9999 on March 17, 2013 at 4:26 pm

    I just bought a Hatsune Miku Cheerful Ver. Nendo
    The base says ©CFM MADE IN CHINA
    Do you think its legit?
    I think CFM stands for Crypton Future Media

    And thats the only suspicious thing. Everything else is good.
    Any help will be appreciated, thanks

    Reply

    • Sorry for giving a super late reply, but that is legitimate :3 As long as it has the copyright on the base, you’re probably in the clear

      Reply

    • Posted by yj on October 25, 2015 at 3:11 pm

      normally most nendoroid are made in china so u can’t really know whether it is fake or real . The best way is to see the colour of the joints.

      Reply

  9. Posted by K.T. (`^ ` ) on June 1, 2013 at 5:29 am

    aww man, my first nendoroid marisa from touhou turned out to be fake! well i guess it was alright, only payed $30 + tax so i didnt pay for a full price of a real nendoroid! I’ll be sure to look out for fakes next time i decide to buy another nendoroid.

    My fake marisa at least is painted well and the parts aren’t really loose, the only thing that made me suspicious was her stand which didn’t allow her to stand properly and said made in china underneath ://

    thanks for the guide! it is really helpful! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Posted by laketica on July 17, 2013 at 5:58 am

    I like to think if the seller is from Japan (on eBay), it’s more likely… to be authentic… but I’m so afraid now!! Thanks for the info! I checked the Nendoroid I bought and I think… I think it’s genuine, so banzai!!!!!!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Alex on July 28, 2013 at 9:09 am

    Thanks im from Philippines and guest what? i bought Saber (from fate/zero with the bike ones) i noticed of its blurry color and missing part, now i cant rider her on her bike because the leg part are not fit to rider her, thanks, imma go check next time…

    BTW i bought it in Megamall comic Alley

    Reply

  12. Posted by Alan on September 2, 2013 at 3:08 am

    Fuck, I just purchased a fake ikaros one today from a shop in Bangkok, Thailand called Starpics Gallery without knowing it was fake. When I got home and opened it I thought it was weird that there was no directions and nothing would fit. Did some searches on Google and I find this. Pretty dumb of me, but oh well, at least I only spent 550 baht ($17) and I plan to try to return this fake today. If anything, lesson learned and I also found the online site for this company so I’m just going to order the ones I want online. Thanks for the helpful post.

    Reply

  13. Even though its fake the reason your miku doesnt have a hole in her back is because the first edition miku doesnt have that kind of a stand she uses the old style stands that she connects onto her skirt. Only cheerful miku and miku 2.0 have the holes in their back :3

    Reply

  14. Posted by Maddy Oresu on September 27, 2013 at 6:05 am

    Actually, I just received a non authenticated nendoroid, for a good price, and she’s a bootleg, the tape was rounded, it matched many of the signs that proved real, newer bootlegs 170+ (or it was 150+) have the circle tape seal, no her stand isn’t useless her legs go in, she’s an older one the double digit nendoroids quality aren’t as pristine, but the price ranges you have are actually accurate, I actually bought an authentic used for 25 usd, some bootlegs don’t have glossy faces, but all joints in bad quality, I own 2 authentic and 3 bootleg. Sucks Right. Also I’m not sure how old this page is , just caught my eye. And I don’t reply often. Wonderful page btw. Good day.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Maddy Oresu on September 27, 2013 at 6:07 am

    Lastly all nendoroids are made in China. Forgot to say. It says it on all my authentic ones from amiami.

    Reply

  16. Posted by Iluvnendroidss_26 on October 26, 2013 at 12:34 pm

    Wait what if I’m in the US?? There’s a mall that has a store called, Tokyo lifestyle and they sell nendroids.. So idk but do u think I can trust that store??

    Reply

  17. Posted by Winarto Hadi on November 3, 2013 at 7:30 am

    Thank you for your tips. I bought nendoroid Ikaros and its my first time buy nendoroid. Luckily, my first nendoroid not a fake one xD.. I have a friend that already buy many original nendoroids but he cant explain what is the real fake looks like (he know but cant explain it to me). SO, I really appreciated your tips :3

    Reply

  18. Posted by Sosezi on November 28, 2013 at 3:55 am

    Oh My GOD!! there is FAKE Nendoroids!?!?!? WHY WHY WHY!! i am angry as Hell!! these Cuties must be never bootlegged!

    first my Nendo is Shinguji Sakura with Koubu from Sakura Wars and fortunately she is Original
    i love her very very much because she is my first and because i love Sakura wars

    Thank you for this thread
    many Nendoroid fans will be happy to detect fake and buy True Good Nendoroids^^

    Reply

  19. Posted by Sosezi on November 28, 2013 at 4:05 am

    by the way i Bought my Sakura ih Japan when i went there so after reading this post i went my room and checked the box
    well… all the logos copyright etc… are there

    there is no crappy rounded “made in china” stand and she is perfectly painted and not glossy

    also she has rounded box stickers
    Thank you again for this thread
    huh i will never buy from Ebay unless it’s seller which i know in person and he is my friend in Japan hehe(^^)/

    Reply

  20. Hi there. I just bought a fake Snow Miku Nendoroid by mistake from a local shop. I am worried they will not let me return it because I could tell some of their other items were fake, but I was stupid and thought the Snow Miku was real >_< Do you have any experience trying to return items to a local shop?

    Reply

    • Sorry for the super late reply >. <
      If you bought from a shop that sells lots of bootlegs, most probably they are aware of that they are selling fake stuff and are trying to scam you. So no chance in getting a refund for those bootlegs. Sorry to hear your case : (
      What you can do in the future is to be more vigilant, and look around your local animu forums for shops to be aware of.

      Reply

  21. Posted by Kobeni on June 11, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    I thank thee for your advice. I fell victim thrice already T^T

    Reply

  22. Posted by MikuMikuKitten on July 1, 2014 at 1:28 am

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vocaloid-Nendoroid-Petit-Hatsune-Miku-Selection-figure-Luka-Megurine-Akahitoha-/281353854055 Would someone check out that link? The price seems too good to be true, and I already bought it, but just wanted to see if anyone could tell me before it ships. It looks okay from the picture, but I’m not positive. It says it’s from Good Smile, and it’s from Japan, not China. It would be an amazing deal if it’s real. Thanks!

    Reply

  23. Posted by Leila on June 14, 2015 at 3:19 pm

    I stood in the shop for 20 minutes staring at an discounted Iron Man nendo and wondering why the quality seemed so bad even when the box looked real enough to be authentic. So I looked it up and came across this, thank you so much for the warning and tips! I decided not to get it in the end, rather pay more for much better quality.

    Reply

  24. Thanks for the information. This post was very usefull!

    Reply

  25. Posted by Rayne on December 15, 2016 at 2:37 am

    Do you think buying from sites like Crunchyroll would be okay? They’ve got some deals for Nendoroids at about $30-$40. Do you think Crunchyroll is trustworthy enough, have you shopped there yourself at all?

    Reply

  26. Posted by wan iwani afiqah binti wan farid zafuan on June 24, 2017 at 4:34 pm

    did the good smile company have a factory in china? because mine base have crypton future media piapro. is that a fake?

    Reply

  27. Posted by Tiana on December 12, 2017 at 9:11 am

    I have been collecting nendoroids for over 6 years, but never once have they been bootlegs. I have gone to local stores, conventions and ebay?
    I do shop on AmiAmi most, which is extremely reliable.

    Reply

  28. […] all the knowledge I have for you! I hope that I have enough experience though! I did a rather crude version of this article before 5 years ago, and there’s some stuff I wanted to add in, so here is the improved version! This is from a proud […]

    Reply

  29. Posted by Le FoxFox on November 3, 2018 at 1:21 pm

    I went to an anime store in Hong Kong (store name: buyway) and I bought a nendoroid,
    I’m pretty confused because they were sold in Hong Kong and I’m pretty sure they’re bootleg, but I’m pretty sure they’re authentic, because they got their own website

    Reply

Leave a comment